Thurston Moore “The Best Day”

There are few as prolific as Thurston Joseph Moore who’s been at it for over 3 decades now. Between his years fronting Sonic Youth, his innumerable collaborations, and his solo recordings Thurston Moore has amassed quite an impressive discography. The Best Day, Thurston Moore’s first solo record since 2010’s Demolished Thoughts, is set to be released on October 21, 2014 on Matador Records coinciding with a substantial coast to coast US tour.

The recently release title track from The Best Day is certain to be among the more accessible and poppy tracks, which is fine with me. As much as I love the later Sonic Youth albums like Rather Ripped and The Eternal for their more structure sound and witty lyrics, I am somewhat of a purist at heart longing for the raw grit and attitude found on Evol, Sister, and Bad Moon Rising. Purists rejoice because another track, presumably released unofficially on soundcloud, entitled “Detonation” harkens back to those very records. The Best Day is certain to be a mixture of Moore’s idiosyncratic noise driven strains as well as his more melodic numbers.

There have however, been some changes to his backing band since 2012’s Chelsea Light Moving. Moore reunites with old Sonic Youth band mate Steve Shelley on drums while adding Deb Googe of My Bloody Valentine fame on bass along with British guitar virtuoso James Sedwards of Nought. As I’m sure any fan of Moore and Sonic Youth is sure to be, I am eager to hear the full album and catch them live this fall.

01 Speak To The Wild
02 Forevermore
03 Tape
04 The Best Day
05 Detonation
06 Vocabularies
07 Grace Lake
08 Germs Burn

[soundcloud url=”″ params=”auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false&visual=true” width=”100%” height=”450″ iframe=”true” /]

Leave a Reply